The Most Popular Washington Think Tanks

Top 50 DC Think Tanks

(ranked by popularity)

Rank Organization Website Annual Contributions Annual Expenses Average Events/Month Alexa Ranking
1 Heritage Foundation heritage.org $73,957,186 $80,378,250 22.1 17,105
2 Council on Foreign Relations cfr.org $47,654,800 $50,731,317 10 45,172
3 Cato Institute cato.org $39,253,053 $23,648,195 11.3 58,117
4 Brookings Institution brookings.edu $86,934,790 $88,922,671 26.1 69,560
5 RAND rand.org $250,987,982 $266,873,864 1.5 74,123
6 Center for American Progress americanprogress.org $36,517,866 $33,727,128 7.2 93,527
7 US Institute of Peace usip.org $24,447,975 $30,284,229 16.2 102,152
8 World Resources Institute wri.org $47,451,943 $40,533,012 2.7 120,700
9 Center on Budget and Policy Priorities cbpp.org $28,029,778 $26,380,857 0 120,798
10 Center for Strategic and International Studies csis.org $39,138,159 $30,114,700 22.0 121,560
11 Urban Institute urban.org $73,294,793 $64,700,749 3.9 130,185
12 Carnegie Endowment for International Peace carnegieendowment.org $20,916,398 $28,289,710 9.6 130,791
13 Freedom House freedomhouse.org $41,448,447 $41,450,257 0.7 140,721
14 American Enterprise Institute aei.org $34,577,193 $29,030,559 17.6 147,673
15 New America Foundation newamerica.net $15,836,375 $15,695,563 14.5 160,620
16 Center for Economic and Policy Research cepr.net $1,661,756 $1,872,717 0.6 182,966
17 Family Research Council frc.org $13,064,417 $12,952,734 2.2 201,933
18 Economic Policy Institute epi.org $6,573,520 $6,426,906 1.6 211,790
19 Institute for National Strategic Studies ndu.edu N/A N/A 0.2 222,452
20 Pew Charitable Trusts pewtrusts.org $283,445,062 $278,982,877 0.8 227,455
21 Mercatus Center mercatus.org $11,602,622 $10,770,500 232,751
22 Atlantic Council of the United States acus.org $7,995,306 $7,416,161 4.4 241,398
23 Center for Global Development cgdev.org $18,457,280 $9,720,926 6.6 241,467
24 Aspen Institute aspeninstitute.org $69,095,692 $66,067,040 4.7 244,165
25 Woodrow Wilson Center wilsoncenter.org $16,452,666 $20,218,504 58.7 262,671
26 Center for a New American Security cnas.org $5,846,959 $5,237,667 1.1 276,938
27 National Democratic Institute ndi.org $130,207,368 $130,086,031 1.1 281,883
27* The Washington Institute washingtoninstitute.org $$8,646,154 $8,460,571 302,920
28 German Marshall Fund gmfus.org $40,856,014 $38,617,770 0.1 385,636
29 National Endowment for Democracy ned.org $136,692,723 $136,760,415 4.1 430,951
30 Jamestown Foundation jamestown.org $1,493,626 $1,175,343 0.4 443,154
31 Benton Foundation benton.org $786,529 $317,936 4.4 450,397
32 East-West Center eastwestcenter.org $2,371,918 $723,157 1.5 464,555
33 Institute for Policy Studies ips-dc.org $2,943,472 $4,080,221 9.1 513,650
34 International Institute for Strategic Studies iiss.org $1,342,151 $694,724 0.8 538,426
35 German Historical Institute ghi-dc.org 2.0 541,287
36 Peterson Institute for International Economics iie.com $7,460,008 $11,354,424 584,689
37 Bipartisan Policy Center bipartisanpolicy.org $21,798,883 $18,895,309 3.5 632,991
38 Heinrich Boell Foundation boell.org N/A N/A 0.4 708,003
39 Institute for the Study of War understandingwar.org $1,190,641 $1,674,281 0.2 724,696
40 Competitive Enterprise Institute cei.org $4,247,228 $4,332,971 1.3 751,059
41 Demos demos.org N/A N/A 1.3 758,381
42 Resources for the Future rff.org $11,018,135 $14,061,919 4.5 788,437
43 Hudson Institute hudson.org $9,804,595 $10,635,441 7.9 805,630
44 Migration Policy Institute migrationpolicy.org $8,140,018 $5,025,840 0.7 829,490
45 Information Technology and Innovation Foundation itif.org $2,471,944 $2,205,616 3.5 877,534
46 Al-Hewar Center alhewar.com 1.1 881,945
47 Foreign Policy Research Initiative fpri.org $1,575,411 $1,483,384 0.8 896,363
48 Century Foundation tcf.org N/A N/A 0.9 952,913
49 International Foundation for Electoral Systems ifes.org $94,754,333 $92,489,758 0.7 985,497
50 Middle East Institute mei.edu $2,482,504 $2,291,776 4.8 1,106,498

Comments

comments

Powered by Facebook Comments

Pages: 1 2

Share This Post